Spicy hamburger soup

Its cold as hell here in Michigan, so I made up a big pot of soup today. My mom always called it iron ore stew, not sure where the name came from, but it's just a hamburger vegetable soup with a tomato base.

Ingredients

  • 1lb ground beef
  • 4 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 large potato, peeled and cut into bite sized chunks (more if you like, I don't like a lot of potato in my soups)
  • 1 sweet onion, half minced, half chopped
  • 1 green pepper, half minced, half chopped
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp Onion powder
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder (more if you can stand it, I'm a wimp so I don't use much)
  • 3 small cans tomato soup
  • 3 cans water

Directions

  1. Sauteed the minced onions and peppers, and add the ground beef. Brown the meat, drain, and rinse.
  2. Peel and chop your potatoes and carrots if you havent already done that. Add them to a soup pot with the ground beef and the chopped peppers and onions.
  3. Add the seasonings, soup and water and stir to mix well.
  4. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to a medium/low and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 20-30 minutes or until potatoes are tender.
  5. Optional- toward the end, add some frozen veggies, I usually throw in corn and green beans, my mom always made it with just the potatoes and carrots. Occasionally she would add noodles.
